Welcome Guest Login or Signup
LIVE CHAT | INSTANT MESSENGER | BOOKMARK US | LANGUAGE:
 


RSS 1.0     RSS 2.0

Total Views: 46382 - Total Replies: 8

POSTED BY: carrick_gal_08 on 08/05/2008 13:15:51


i recently applied to an agency called euro models and got a letter this morning saying that i had been accepted for a 3 yr representation and it will cost £150 including: portfolio taken by a top photogrpaher in a local based studio

            &nb sp;  web site entry for 3 years

            &nb sp;  unlimited model cards/z cards for 3 years

is it a scam???



let me no wat u think

kayleigh x





--------------------------------------------------------------
I am very keen and will make sure i work hard to make sure i get the best photo possible




POSTED BY: gheynen on 08/05/2008 13:21:34


Hey you :)


I checked the net they seem ok. Just make sure you read the small prints before signing the dotted line...:) otherwise you might find yourself shooting in Amsterdam with very little clothing indeed...:)







--------------------------------------------------------------
Freelance Photographer
Back To Top




POSTED BY: Stephanie on 08/05/2008 13:27:25


I would see if you can contact anyone that is with them!!!

I personally wouldnt pay to join an agency and all the reputable agencies will advise you against agencies saying they have a joining fee!!!





--------------------------------------------------------------
Live the life you love, Love the life you live !!
Back To Top




POSTED BY: MsTrianta on 08/05/2008 15:36:47


Euromodels.. it rings a bell!! whats the site?





--------------------------------------------------------------
TANYA TRIANTA Very ambitious model xXxXx (Glamour, Lingerie, Fashion)
Back To Top




POSTED BY: PB_Photographs on 08/05/2008 15:48:09


Im just wondering why you would bother?



Your Port is good  and you seem to be getting work anyway ?  So why pay 150 Euro to be represented on a site when you can easly promote yourself as many other successfull models do on their own.

Just think your money would be better spent else where.

P B





--------------------------------------------------------------
Photographer Dublin
Back To Top




POSTED BY: ThorstenM on 08/05/2008 18:10:53


A quick Google search returned several sites under the name of "Euromodels". £150 isn't a lot of money BUT I would urge caution. Reputable established agencies do not ask for money to be paid towards the cost of photography, a website profile and comp cards. These are costs which are carried by the agency and are recovered when they get their booking fees in for you as a model.

I'd ask them a few probing questions before handing over any money and even then I'd be very slow to run with this.





--------------------------------------------------------------
tmerz@gmx.net
Back To Top




POSTED BY: pflanagan on 08/05/2008 18:27:19


As Thorsten says, there are a few agencies with that name. Do you have a web link? What was their selection process like? If it was very rigorous it bodes well. If it was cursory, it does not.

I also would look with grave suspicion on an agency charging you to join. They either feel you have potential and will make money from you, in which case they shouldn't charge, or they're just trying to pad their books so they look like they have lots of models available.

There seem to be a lot of new agencies popping up lately.

Did they mention who the "top photographer" is?

Also check anything you sign to see if they have exclusive rights to booking you, or even (gods forbid) they get a cut of fees you earn that were NOT booked through them.





--------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.pflanaganphoto.com - Strive not for perfection but for excellence
Back To Top




POSTED BY: yearsintheindustry on 08/05/2008 22:14:17


It's actually now illegal for agencies to charge joining fees, no remotely reputable agency would do so.  Agencies find you work, pay YOU and take a percentage of your earnings, that is how they make the money.  Many agencies will recommend photographers to get to take portfolio pictures in order to be put on their website but the money is paid directly to the photographer, not to the agency.  That only applies to new girls anyway, who don't yet have any professional photos done.  Stay clear of any agency like that, you'll be wasting your money in my opinion.

Back To Top




POSTED BY: carrick_gal_08 on 08/05/2008 22:18:56


ok everyone thank you for your help i have decided not to go ahead with it as i feel i agree with you when you say i will be wasting my money thank you very much u have all been very helpful xx





--------------------------------------------------------------
I am very keen and will make sure i work hard to make sure i get the best photo possible
Back To Top
02/12/2008



*** folio32.com ***